## West Virginia State Agency for Surplus Property (WVSASP)

## **Reimbursement Policy**

Effective 10/01/2022

- 1. **Reimbursement Calculation:** The West Virginia State Agency for Surplus Property (WVSASP) will reimburse state agencies for items sold, in accordance with the categories listed below.
  - **a. General Sale** WVSASP will reimburse the retiring agency 55% of sale proceeds for all items that sell for \$250 or more. WVSASP will keep a maximum of \$5,000 per item sold for items other than passenger vehicles. WVSASP will keep 45% of proceeds for all passenger vehicles sold.
  - b. GovDeals or Sealed Bid Sale WVSASP will reimburse the retiring agency 55% of sale proceeds for all items that sell for \$250 or more when items are sold on online auction sites, such as GovDeals, or via sealed bid. For items other than passenger vehicles, WVSASP will keep a maximum of \$5,000 per item sold. WVSASP will pay the online auction site/sealed bid fees up to \$500. Retiring agency will be responsible for all online auction site fees charged over \$500. WVSASP will pay auction site fees for passenger vehicles.

## For Example:

	Example 1	Example 2	Example 3	Example 4	Example 5	Example 6
Sale Proceeds	\$1,500	\$5,000	\$10,000	\$50,000	\$100,000	\$200,000
Surplus Retains	\$675	\$2,250	\$4,500	\$5,000	\$5,000	\$5,000
Percent						
Retained	45.00%	45.00%	45.00%	10.00%	5.00%	2.50%

**c. Scrap** - When items are sold for scrap value, WVSASP retains \$50 per scrap check. WVSASP will reimburse retiring agency any amounts over \$50. It is the retiring agency's responsibility to notify WVSASP of the retirement identification numbers that correspond to scrap payments.

## For Example:

	Example 1	Example 2	Example 3	Example 4
Scrap Proceeds	\$200	\$500	\$1,000	\$2,000
Surplus Retains	\$50	\$50	\$50	\$50
Percent Retained	25%	10.00%	5.00%	2.5%

- **2. Reimbursement Procedure:** WVSASP and the agency must follow the procedure outlined below to facilitate reimbursement for items sold through WVSASP.
  - **a. Notice of Sale Letter** WVSASP will send the agency a notice that an item has sold and the amount that can be reimbursed based on the calculations listed above.
  - **b. Agency Invoice** Once notified of a sale and reimbursement amount, the agency must submit an invoice to WVSASP that includes:
    - i. The asset for which reimbursement is being sought
    - ii. The amount of reimbursement for which agency is eligible
    - iii. Proof of the account from which the original purchase was made (WVSASP is required by law to reimburse the original purchase account). If the original purchase account no longer exists, an affirmative statement to that effect along with an alternate account for reimbursement.

Invoices must be submitted to WVSASP within one year of the date of the letter informing the retiring agency of the sale

**c. Reimbursement:** Upon receiving an appropriate invoice, WVSASP will facilitate an intergovernmental transfer to the appropriate agency account.